chef-rfc.git
19 months agoMerge pull request #196 from juliandunn/aix-7.2 master
Thom May [Thu, 21 Apr 2016 12:49:23 +0000 (13:49 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #196 from juliandunn/aix-7.2

Clarify that AIX 7.2 is supported.

19 months agoClarify that AIX 7.2 is supported.
Julian C. Dunn [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 13:51:57 +0000 (09:51 -0400)] 
Clarify that AIX 7.2 is supported.

19 months agoassigning RFC075 to the multiple policy RFC
Adam Leff [Mon, 28 Mar 2016 21:55:18 +0000 (17:55 -0400)] 
assigning RFC075 to the multiple policy RFC

19 months agoMerge pull request #187 from coderanger/multi-policy
Adam Leff [Mon, 28 Mar 2016 21:54:30 +0000 (17:54 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #187 from coderanger/multi-policy

Multiple policy support

19 months agoMerging PR #191
Adam Leff [Mon, 28 Mar 2016 21:50:52 +0000 (17:50 -0400)] 
Merging PR #191

19 months agoassigning RFC074 for community slack proposal
Adam Leff [Mon, 28 Mar 2016 21:48:15 +0000 (17:48 -0400)] 
assigning RFC074 for community slack proposal

19 months agoFirst draft of community Slack RFC.
Noah Kantrowitz [Wed, 2 Mar 2016 23:01:13 +0000 (15:01 -0800)] 
First draft of community Slack RFC.

20 months agoMerge pull request #194 from juliandunn/add-aix-lifecycle
Noah Kantrowitz [Fri, 18 Mar 2016 18:07:13 +0000 (11:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #194 from juliandunn/add-aix-lifecycle

Add information on AIX lifecycle

20 months agoAdd information on AIX lifecycle
Julian C. Dunn [Fri, 18 Mar 2016 14:32:53 +0000 (10:32 -0400)] 
Add information on AIX lifecycle

20 months agoMerge pull request #192 from chef/cperry/add-cisco-platforms
Thom May [Thu, 17 Mar 2016 14:30:59 +0000 (14:30 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #192 from chef/cperry/add-cisco-platforms

Adding Cisco IOS XR and Cisco NX-OS to Tier 1

20 months agoMore about motivation.
Noah Kantrowitz [Wed, 9 Mar 2016 22:24:19 +0000 (14:24 -0800)] 
More about motivation.

20 months agoMore in impl and problems.
Noah Kantrowitz [Wed, 9 Mar 2016 21:00:45 +0000 (13:00 -0800)] 
More in impl and problems.

20 months agoAdding Cisco IOS XR and Cisco NX-OS to Tier 1
Carl Perry [Wed, 9 Mar 2016 00:06:12 +0000 (18:06 -0600)] 
Adding Cisco IOS XR and Cisco NX-OS to Tier 1

20 months agoMerge pull request #186 from chef/jjasghar/meetbot
Adam Leff [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 19:58:05 +0000 (14:58 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #186 from chef/jjasghar/meetbot

RFC-meetbot

20 months agoAssigning 073 to the meetbot RFC
Adam Leff [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 19:57:43 +0000 (14:57 -0500)] 
Assigning 073 to the meetbot RFC

20 months agoMerge PR #190 - RFC 72
Adam Leff [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 19:54:15 +0000 (14:54 -0500)] 
Merge PR #190 - RFC 72

20 months agoAccepting RFC072 - artifact yanking rfc for supermarket
Nell Shamrell [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 23:58:41 +0000 (15:58 -0800)] 
Accepting RFC072 - artifact yanking rfc for supermarket

20 months agoUpdated per @btm 's suggestions
JJ Asghar [Mon, 29 Feb 2016 16:45:49 +0000 (10:45 -0600)] 
Updated per @btm 's suggestions

- Worked on tense
- Removed I think, I believe
- Made the overall document more declarative

20 months agoMerge pull request #189 from chef/smurawski/update-exit-status
Thom May [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 17:30:30 +0000 (17:30 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #189 from chef/smurawski/update-exit-status

Update RFC062's defined and deprecated exit codes

20 months agoMerge pull request #185 from chef/schisamo/update-mac-os-x-versions
Bryan McLellan [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 19:48:24 +0000 (14:48 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #185 from chef/schisamo/update-mac-os-x-versions

Minimum supported Mac OS X version is now 10.9

21 months agoReboot Now is not different from Reboot Scheduled
Steven Murawski [Tue, 23 Feb 2016 17:21:36 +0000 (11:21 -0600)] 
Reboot Now is not different from Reboot Scheduled
Add a few more deprecated exit codes currently in use.

21 months agoTypo.
Noah Kantrowitz [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 22:51:23 +0000 (14:51 -0800)] 
Typo.

21 months agoMerge pull request #188 from chef/tm/downstream_impact
Thom May [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 18:35:36 +0000 (18:35 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #188 from chef/tm/downstream_impact

Add downstream impact section

21 months agoupdate the template in rfc 0
Thom May [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 18:34:27 +0000 (18:34 +0000)] 
update the template in rfc 0

21 months agoMerge pull request #183 from chef/jdm/knife-bootstrap
Adam Leff [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 16:14:11 +0000 (11:14 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #183 from chef/jdm/knife-bootstrap

Knife bootstrap custom client.rb config

21 months agoassigning 071, fixing header table to show both authors
Adam Leff [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 16:13:34 +0000 (11:13 -0500)] 
assigning 071, fixing header table to show both authors

21 months agoAdd downstream impact section
Thom May [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 10:37:26 +0000 (10:37 +0000)] 
Add downstream impact section

21 months agoFirst pass on a multi-policy RFC.
Noah Kantrowitz [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 03:43:13 +0000 (19:43 -0800)] 
First pass on a multi-policy RFC.

21 months agoinital commit of rfc-meetbot
JJ Asghar [Wed, 17 Feb 2016 16:09:50 +0000 (10:09 -0600)] 
inital commit of rfc-meetbot
This commit is for adding an IRC/Chatbot to track our meetings for the community.

21 months agoMinimum supported Mac OS X version is now 10.9
Seth Chisamore [Fri, 12 Feb 2016 18:47:47 +0000 (13:47 -0500)] 
Minimum supported Mac OS X version is now 10.9

Per Appendix 1 we support the current released version of Mac OS X and
the previous two versions. Since Mac OS X 10.11 (El Capitan) was released
we now only officially support 10.11, 10.10 and 10.9.

21 months agoMerge pull request #184 from tas50/master
Adam Leff [Thu, 11 Feb 2016 20:53:52 +0000 (15:53 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #184 from tas50/master

Update supported platforms

21 months agoUpdate supported platforms
Tim Smith [Tue, 9 Feb 2016 20:45:46 +0000 (12:45 -0800)] 
Update supported platforms

Remove platforms that are EoL with their vendors and add new versions of
openSUSE and OpenBSD

21 months agoInstead of switch for client.d path, use knife config
Jay Mundrawala [Thu, 4 Feb 2016 17:18:41 +0000 (09:18 -0800)] 
Instead of switch for client.d path, use knife config

21 months agoNo need for client.rb template
Jay Mundrawala [Thu, 4 Feb 2016 17:12:53 +0000 (09:12 -0800)] 
No need for client.rb template

21 months agoKnife bootstrap custom client.rb config
Jay Mundrawala [Tue, 26 Jan 2016 19:24:16 +0000 (11:24 -0800)] 
Knife bootstrap custom client.rb config

21 months agoMerge pull request #182 from chef/lcg/add-tracking
Thom May [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 21:44:15 +0000 (21:44 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #182 from chef/lcg/add-tracking

updating RFC with tracking info

21 months agoupdating RFC with tracking info
Lamont Granquist [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 17:41:55 +0000 (09:41 -0800)] 
updating RFC with tracking info

some stuff got done.

21 months agoMerge pull request #181 from tas50/master
Thom May [Mon, 25 Jan 2016 21:43:16 +0000 (21:43 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #181 from tas50/master

Add Mac OS X 10.11 as a supported platform

22 months agoAdd Mac OS X 10.11 as a supported platform
Tim Smith [Sat, 23 Jan 2016 03:30:44 +0000 (19:30 -0800)] 
Add Mac OS X 10.11 as a supported platform

22 months agoMerge pull request #180 from chef/btm/markdown-fixes-for-rfc047
Thom May [Fri, 22 Jan 2016 08:25:35 +0000 (08:25 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #180 from chef/btm/markdown-fixes-for-rfc047

markdown formatting fixes for lists

22 months agomarkdown formatting fixes for lists
Bryan McLellan [Thu, 21 Jan 2016 21:27:04 +0000 (16:27 -0500)] 
markdown formatting fixes for lists

22 months agoMerge pull request #175 from chef/btm/wip-versioning
Bryan McLellan [Thu, 21 Jan 2016 17:42:09 +0000 (12:42 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #175 from chef/btm/wip-versioning

Automatic Versioning

22 months agofix spelling of guaranteed, switch to annotated git tags per feedback
Bryan McLellan [Wed, 20 Jan 2016 16:07:10 +0000 (11:07 -0500)] 
fix spelling of guaranteed, switch to annotated git tags per feedback

22 months agoReformatting example.
Noah Kantrowitz [Wed, 20 Jan 2016 02:48:14 +0000 (18:48 -0800)] 
Reformatting example.

22 months agoMerge pull request #171 from chef/tm/upgrade
Adam Leff [Fri, 15 Jan 2016 04:30:59 +0000 (23:30 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #171 from chef/tm/upgrade

Chef, upgrade thyself

22 months agoAssigning RFC070
Adam Leff [Fri, 15 Jan 2016 04:30:38 +0000 (23:30 -0500)] 
Assigning RFC070

22 months agoAccepting cookbook adoption RFC PR #172 as RFC069
Nell Shamrell [Tue, 8 Dec 2015 18:27:05 +0000 (10:27 -0800)] 
Accepting cookbook adoption RFC PR #172 as RFC069

22 months agochange the attribute name to be a bit saner
Thom May [Wed, 13 Jan 2016 11:34:18 +0000 (11:34 +0000)] 
change the attribute name to be a bit saner

22 months agoRewrite to occur at the beginning
Thom May [Wed, 13 Jan 2016 11:30:33 +0000 (11:30 +0000)] 
Rewrite to occur at the beginning

Also incorporate feedback around how we'll communicate data to the
node, and what data we should send.

22 months agoChef, upgrade thyself
Thom May [Mon, 7 Dec 2015 13:39:16 +0000 (13:39 +0000)] 
Chef, upgrade thyself

22 months agoMerge pull request #176 from chef/tidy_metadata
Adam Leff [Mon, 11 Jan 2016 15:07:06 +0000 (10:07 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #176 from chef/tidy_metadata

Add missing metadata to accepted RFCs

22 months agoAdd missing metadata
Thom May [Mon, 11 Jan 2016 10:18:18 +0000 (10:18 +0000)] 
Add missing metadata

22 months agoMerge pull request #174 from chef/tm/clarify_author_responsibility
Thom May [Mon, 11 Jan 2016 08:02:01 +0000 (08:02 +0000)] 
Merge pull request #174 from chef/tm/clarify_author_responsibility

Add author responsibility to template

22 months agoupdates for github bot concept
Bryan McLellan [Fri, 8 Jan 2016 22:55:18 +0000 (17:55 -0500)] 
updates for github bot concept

22 months agoUpdate rfc-template.md
Thom May [Thu, 7 Jan 2016 23:12:11 +0000 (15:12 -0800)] 
Update rfc-template.md

22 months agoAdd author responsibility to template
Thom May [Thu, 7 Jan 2016 22:51:37 +0000 (14:51 -0800)] 
Add author responsibility to template

It is a problem that we have a lot of unfunded RFCs. We need to remind authors that they're explicitly committing to do the work to implement the RFC.

23 months agoUpdates
Bryan McLellan [Sat, 19 Dec 2015 19:37:06 +0000 (14:37 -0500)] 
Updates

Adds "build" branch concept for bundler
Makes discourse posts the official release announcement
Reorders some sections into logical groups
Clarifies how we talk about a release

23 months agoWIP Version Configuration
Bryan McLellan [Tue, 15 Dec 2015 22:44:11 +0000 (17:44 -0500)] 
WIP Version Configuration

23 months agoMerge PR #173 - postgresql-search RFC068
Adam Leff [Thu, 17 Dec 2015 21:57:25 +0000 (16:57 -0500)] 
Merge PR #173 - postgresql-search RFC068

23 months agoAccepting postgresql-search and assigning RFC068
ctdk [Sun, 2 Aug 2015 16:38:44 +0000 (09:38 -0700)] 
Accepting postgresql-search and assigning RFC068

23 months agoCookbook Segment Deprecation RFC accepted as RFC067
Bryan McLellan [Thu, 10 Dec 2015 18:43:57 +0000 (13:43 -0500)] 
Cookbook Segment Deprecation RFC accepted as RFC067

Closes #161

23 months agonuke cookbook segments from orbit
Lamont Granquist [Fri, 23 Oct 2015 02:09:43 +0000 (19:09 -0700)] 
nuke cookbook segments from orbit

23 months agoCompound actions RFC draft accepted as RFC066
Bryan McLellan [Thu, 10 Dec 2015 18:40:34 +0000 (13:40 -0500)] 
Compound actions RFC draft accepted as RFC066

Closes #170

23 months agoAdd RFC for order of operations in compound actions with inline resources
John Keiser [Thu, 3 Dec 2015 17:52:57 +0000 (09:52 -0800)] 
Add RFC for order of operations in compound actions with inline resources

23 months agoSigning Protocol v1.3 accepted as RFC065
Bryan McLellan [Thu, 10 Dec 2015 18:38:17 +0000 (13:38 -0500)] 
Signing Protocol v1.3 accepted as RFC065

Closes #169

23 months agoAdd PRs for tracking
Jay Mundrawala [Sat, 5 Dec 2015 23:27:48 +0000 (15:27 -0800)] 
Add PRs for tracking

23 months agoUpdate based on RFC comments
Jay Mundrawala [Sat, 5 Dec 2015 23:25:02 +0000 (15:25 -0800)] 
Update based on RFC comments

There are two changes:
- v1.3 will not support SHA1 for hashing. It will be strictly SHA256
- v1.3 will not hash user id and path in the signed message. These
  things are not required like the were for previous versions.

23 months agoNew signing protocol allowing hashing algorithms other than SHA1
Jay Mundrawala [Tue, 1 Dec 2015 17:14:17 +0000 (09:14 -0800)] 
New signing protocol allowing hashing algorithms other than SHA1

23 months agoMerge branch 'tm/styleguide' for PR #168
Adam Leff [Thu, 3 Dec 2015 20:57:13 +0000 (15:57 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'tm/styleguide' for PR #168

23 months agoaccepting and assigning RFC064 to chefstyle
Adam Leff [Thu, 3 Dec 2015 20:57:04 +0000 (15:57 -0500)] 
accepting and assigning RFC064 to chefstyle

23 months agofix formatting
Thom May [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 20:08:27 +0000 (20:08 +0000)] 
fix formatting

23 months agobe much more restrictive about scope.
Thom May [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 19:49:38 +0000 (19:49 +0000)] 
be much more restrictive about scope.

23 months agoChef code should have consistent style
Thom May [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 17:26:15 +0000 (17:26 +0000)] 
Chef code should have consistent style

23 months agoMerge pull request #167 from chef/tracking-universe
Adam Leff [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 15:17:55 +0000 (10:17 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #167 from chef/tracking-universe

Add implementing PR to RFC 14

23 months agoUpdate rfc014-universe-endpoint.md
Thom May [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 15:12:58 +0000 (15:12 +0000)] 
Update rfc014-universe-endpoint.md

Add tracking URL to the implementation

2 years agoMerge branch 'lcg/omnibus-chef-native-gems' for PR #162
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:53:57 +0000 (10:53 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'lcg/omnibus-chef-native-gems' for PR #162

2 years agoassigning RFC063
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:53:49 +0000 (10:53 -0500)] 
assigning RFC063

2 years agoassigning RFC062 to exit status, minor formatting changes for consistency
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:45:50 +0000 (10:45 -0500)] 
assigning RFC062 to exit status, minor formatting changes for consistency

2 years agoMerge branch 'master' of https://github.com/ebsco/chef-rfc into ebsco-master
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:42:57 +0000 (10:42 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'master' of https://github.com/ebsco/chef-rfc into ebsco-master
for PR #157

2 years agoMerge branch 'martiniandJJ/rfc-4-hugs'
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:39:31 +0000 (10:39 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'martiniandJJ/rfc-4-hugs'

2 years agoAssigning RFC061
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:39:20 +0000 (10:39 -0500)] 
Assigning RFC061

2 years agoMerge branch 'lcg/cookbook-gem-metadata'
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:04:53 +0000 (10:04 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'lcg/cookbook-gem-metadata'

2 years agoaccepting metadata-gem-installation and assigning RFC060
Adam Leff [Fri, 20 Nov 2015 15:04:32 +0000 (10:04 -0500)] 
accepting metadata-gem-installation and assigning RFC060

2 years agoAdding in latest PR comments
Nicholas Carpenter [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 19:49:37 +0000 (14:49 -0500)] 
Adding in latest PR comments

2 years agoUpdated per @btm's suggestions.
JJ Asghar [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 17:24:27 +0000 (11:24 -0600)] 
Updated per @btm's suggestions.

2 years agoreview comments
Lamont Granquist [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 17:20:32 +0000 (09:20 -0800)] 
review comments

2 years agoupdate demotivator
Lamont Granquist [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 17:17:52 +0000 (09:17 -0800)] 
update demotivator

2 years agoMerge pull request #166 from chef/discourse_is_live
Bryan McLellan [Fri, 13 Nov 2015 16:40:59 +0000 (11:40 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #166 from chef/discourse_is_live

The mailing list migration is complete

2 years agoMerge pull request #163 from btm/release/versioning
Bryan McLellan [Fri, 13 Nov 2015 16:40:24 +0000 (11:40 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #163 from btm/release/versioning

Update versioning for a CI/CD future (and present).

2 years agoPR Comments
Nicholas Carpenter [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 21:15:18 +0000 (16:15 -0500)] 
PR Comments

2 years agoMake it clear that the migration is complete and state why the RFC is still around
Nathen Harvey [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 17:58:54 +0000 (12:58 -0500)] 
Make it clear that the migration is complete and state why the RFC is still around

2 years agoadd a note about the date of the cutover
Nathen Harvey [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 17:18:35 +0000 (12:18 -0500)] 
add a note about the date of the cutover

2 years agoAdded details for Linux vs Windows on negative exit code.
Nicholas Carpenter [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 15:57:34 +0000 (10:57 -0500)] 
Added details for Linux vs Windows on negative exit code.

2 years agoThe mailing list migration is complete
Nathen Harvey [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 05:39:31 +0000 (00:39 -0500)] 
The mailing list migration is complete

2 years agoupdates per Mikes suggestions
JJ Asghar [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 21:47:16 +0000 (15:47 -0600)] 
updates per Mikes suggestions

2 years agoRFC 59 Accepted
Lamont Granquist [Thu, 22 Oct 2015 16:39:51 +0000 (09:39 -0700)] 
RFC 59 Accepted

2 years agoRFC 58 Accepted
John Keiser [Thu, 15 Oct 2015 18:52:13 +0000 (11:52 -0700)] 
RFC 58 Accepted

2 years agoInclude Audit mode
Nicholas Carpenter [Mon, 9 Nov 2015 14:23:51 +0000 (09:23 -0500)] 
Include Audit mode

2 years agoReworded for incase of illness
JJ Asghar [Fri, 6 Nov 2015 22:51:37 +0000 (16:51 -0600)] 
Reworded for incase of illness

- added link to elbow to elbow
- put everything under "in the case of an illness"

2 years agoBe more explicit that Chef is not using these but they are reserved
Nicholas Carpenter [Thu, 5 Nov 2015 19:24:11 +0000 (14:24 -0500)] 
Be more explicit that Chef is not using these but they are reserved